The Joys (or Pains) of Being in my Twenties

Most of my life I have felt that I need to find a certain path, or the “right” path. I admire the people around me that know what they love and have careers in it. I grew up with parents that had goals in life and kept moving until they hit those goals, and then proceeded to make new ones.

So it’s probably no wonder, that at the age of twenty-five, with no discernable life goal or career path, that I feel a little lost. I struggle daily trying to find what is right for me. I immediately went into cosmetology school after high school and proceeded to have jobs in salons. I thought that this would be my career for a lifetime.

After a few years in a salon environment I came to find out that the catty atmosphere was overriding any joy I had in being a hair designer. I then proceeded to try out going back to college because I felt that I needed to do something….even though I still wasn’t sure what.

I recently made a mistake when it came to my schooling and I felt so ashamed at the end result that I didnt even fight for what I wanted. Anyone who knows me as a person, knows that I don’t like to take things lying down. This came to make me feel even worse about my situation.

I have an amazing best friend that pointed out to me that I haven’t screwed up much in my life and to have this mistake under my belt is not going to ruin me for the rest of my life..as long I take the action that I need to continue forward on this journey called life.

 

“A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acceptance, Books, Uncategorized

Leave a comment